Monthly reading roundup – August

Finished

The Thirty-Nine Steps, John Buchan – An entertaining enough short-ish thriller but I found that the characters and plot didn’t really capture my imagination.

The Shipping News, E Annie Proulx – Loved it. I’d seen the film, but it didn’t really make much of a lasting impression. The book is brilliant though, great characters and a really vivid portrait of a small community living in a place where their lives are inexctricably linked with the environment that they live in and the ancestors who went before them.

Tess of the d’Urbervilles, Thomas Hardy – Brilliant book! Very readable and very modern in its themes of sexual and social inequality. It’s a pity I didn’t come across this in all my time as an English Literature student.

In Progress

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, Arthur Conan Doyle

Lonely Planet Singapore City Guide (yay!)

Lonely Planet New Zealand Travel Guide (double yay!)

Downloaded and ready to go

The New York Trilogy, Paul Auster

The Siege, Ismail Kadare

A History of Modern Britain, Andrew Marr

And a whole lot more…

In other news, I’m now 12% of the way through the list of ‘1001 books to read before you die’. That’s 125 of the list. There’s a bit of me that’s quite disappointed that I haven’t read more of them, but it’s only the choices of a couple of people and there are a lot more other books that I have read. That’s the danger of lists like that, I suppose.

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Monthly reading roundup – August

  1. silver price says:

    I have no idea which 299 books you’ve read, but I agree with the suggestion of A Fine Balance . I read it about 8 years ago, and it’s really stuck with me. I also learned a lot about India from reading it. When I finished it I wasn’t sure whether to rate it 5 stars for the brilliant writing and storytelling, or 1 star for how it devastated me. I’ve recovered though, and it’s clearly a 5 star read. But not a very happy one.

Leave a Reply

