Monthly reading roundup – July

Finished

20120730-193827.jpgWhite Teeth, Zadie Smith – I really enjoyed this slice of British multiculturalism.

20120730-201314.jpgKafka On The Shore, Haruki Murakami – Brilliant! A 15 year old runaway, a man who talks to cats and a whole load more. I loved this and will be downloading more Murakami to read soon.

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, Lewis Carroll

Through the Looking Glass, and What Alice Found There, Lewis Carroll – Two short books which were worth reading for the use of language and as a comparison with the film versions of Alice. I really enjoyed ‘Wonderland’ but wasn’t as convinced by ‘Through the Looking Glass’. I couldn’t help wondering what modern children would make of them.

In Progress

The Thirty-Nine Steps, John Buchan

Lonely Planet Singapore City Guide (yay!)

Lonely Planet New Zealand Travel Guide (double yay!)

Downloaded and ready to go

I’ve got quite a few and I’m really not sure what I’ll be reading next.

Leave me a comment – what are you reading right now?

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monthly reading roundup – July

  1. caitlinstern says:

    I have White Teeth on my to-read list. I’ll get to it… eventually. Currently I’m reading The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery and Shadow of Night by Deborah Harkness.

    • Ali says:

      Thanks for the comment Caitlin. I’m going to look up the books that you’re reading, as they aren’t ones I’ve heard of. White teeth is worth a read when you get round to it!

Leave a Reply

