Monthly reading roundup – Jan/Feb

Hopefully this post will be the first in a regular series. You can tell that this covers 2 months and a holiday as I managed to finish a few more books than usual!

Finished

The Corrections, Jonathan Franzen. I loved Franzen’s Freedom but found this hard going.

When God Was a Rabbit, Sarah Winman. Starts as one book and ends in a completely unexpected place. I’d recommend it.

The Bell Jar, Sylvia Plath. Plath’s only novel explores mental illness and depression.

Our Tragic Universe, Scarlett Thomas. I love Scarlett Thomas! Philosophy, science, flower remedies, language and sock knitting all crammed into one novel.

Anna Karenina, Leo Tolstoy. One of the classics that had escaped me.

In progress

The Sea, John Banville

Downloaded and ready to go

Yes, I’m reading on a Kindle, and I love it.

The Tiger’s Wife, Tea Obrecht

The Woman in White, Wilkie Collins

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Monthly reading roundup – Jan/Feb

  1. Sheila Hurst says:

    Thank you! Even though there’s always so many to read, I’m still looking for more book recommendations so this is great. I had forgotten that I wanted to give The Bell Jar a try. Also Anna Karenina but recently read War and Peace so might have to try some others in between.

    • Ali says:

      Thanks for the comment Sheila. I hope to publish a similar post at the end of each month so there may be some suggestions there. I found a list of 1001 books to read before you die and that’s currently my reminder of books that I wanted to read at some point but forgot about!

  2. A Modern Girl says:

    Great post! The Corrections has been on my to-read list for a while, and I just added Our Tragic Universe. I don’t have much time for reading right now, but I’m slowly working my way through Nicholas Nickleby at the moment.

Leave a Reply

