Gear Review – Patagonia Women’s Down Sweater

Today’s post has come about because the lovely people at Natureshop asked me to do another review for them. Natureshop have a great selection of ‘nature inspired’ products on their site, items that are chosen because they are environmentally friendly, organic and/or made from natural fabrics. One of the things I have appreciated most when shopping with them is the free overnight delivery – I hate paying for postage!

Anyway, after a little bit of a think I chose the Patagonia Women’s Down Sweater from their range of Patagonia Clothing to review. I think I was largely influenced by the cold and snowy weather we were having at the time and by the exceptionally fabulous colour that it comes in.

One of my main issues with shopping online (and I’m sure I won’t be alone in this) is size. It’s so hard to work out what size to order and I wasn’t at all sure whether to go for a Small or a Medium. I’m a UK size 10-12, but I’m tall so I can sometimes have a bit of an issue with body and sleeve length. A bit of googling resulted in some really useful information (from the Patagonia website):

                                       XS   S    M      L   XL
Chest Circumference  39″ 41″ 43 ”  46″ 49″
Center Front Length  20″ 20″ 21″  22″ 23″ – collar seam to hem
Sleeve                           33″ 34″ 35″  36″ 37″ – center back of the neck to the wrist

I’d recommend doing what I did and measuring some clothing that you already have. In the end I ordered a Small and it’s a brilliant fit,  long arms, not too short in the body and plenty of room for a layer or two underneath. The Medium would have swamped me.

Not too short at the front

Even longer at the back

It’s worth bearing in mind that this is a sweater rather than a coat, it’s not one of those massive puffa jackets that you see around. Having said that though, it’s plenty warm enough to wear over a couple of layers (I wore it as a coat over a couple of layers of Icebreaker on a snowy day). It’s a great mid-layer for wearing underneath a thicker coat and it was perfect for the sunny, warm spring weather that we had today (11c). I can easily see myself wearing it in the evening at a summer music festival (or for any other camping trip).

The top packs down really well so it’s ideal for travelling, in fact it packs down into its own inside pocket, which is pretty cool! On top of that it only weighs 320g.

From this...

to this...

to this!

I absolutely adore the colour. It’s super green and attracts plenty of second glances on a grey wintry day! It’s also really soft and snuggly, a little bit like going out in your duvet. It’s billed as being water resistant, so it should stay dry in a shower, but I haven’t had the opportunity to test that out.

In short, I love the colour, fit and feel of the sweater and I can see myself wearing it loads. The only thing that would make me hesitate over buying it is the price, it’s not a cheap item by any means! However, if I get as much wear out of it as I think I will then it is a really good investment.

This entry was posted in Gear Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

