Wordless Wednesday – I love Giraffes

Kenya, September 2009

Photos by Mr M.

This entry was posted in Africa, Kenya, Wordless Wednesdays and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Wordless Wednesday – I love Giraffes

  1. Ashlee says:

    I love them too! They are my favorite animal.

  2. Dazediva says:

    Giraffes are really quite beautiful ! I had my first up-close encounter with quite a few of them in Thailand last year !

    My #WW link is http://dazedreflection.blogspot.com/2011/05/wordless-wednesday-26-desert-terrain.html

  3. I love giraffes, too! Awesome shots!

  4. I just love how the first photo highlights the length of the giraffe. I have always wanted to go to Africa, and I really enjoyed these photos. Thanks for sharing!

  5. Kai says:

    I love giraffes, too! We went to a safari park last year and got to feed giraffes. I’m not a big fan of zoos in general, but it was still pretty cool and they do get to roam around a bit. I had never been so close to one before.

  6. Char says:

    Giraffe’s rock!!
    Come on over, check out my site and link up when you get a chance.
    Char
    The Epic Adventures of a Modern Mom
    http://1epicmom.com/

  7. Audra says:

    Love them too! So beautiful!

  8. Allison says:

    I love giraffes too! Such majestic animals. 🙂

  9. Oh, lovely shots! Giraffes are fascinating!

  10. Dawn says:

    I like the first photo because the giraffe is staring you down. I love their pattern, because nothing else resembles it. They are majestically gentle, and always interesting. Thank you for sharing your photos from Kenya, and happy WW!

  11. K says:

    Very nice. 🙂

  12. Joules says:

    He really set you up for a perfect shot! How amazing to be so close to such a cool animal.

  13. Ali says:

    Oh wow, everyone loves giraffes! Thank you all for stopping by and commenting.

    The top giraffe was staring us down. It was basically standing in the ‘back garden’ of the tent that we were staying in, just feet from where we were. It was such a shock to come out of the tent on our first day and see it there.

    Nothing quite looks or moves likes a giraffe and they are surprisingly fast too. They cover a lot of ground without looking like they are moving much at all. They have a massive impact on the way Kenya looks, the tree behind the first giraffe looks that way because it’s only got green growth left above the height that the giraffes can reach to eat.

  14. Rhonda Albom says:

    Fantastic photos. I would love to visit Kenya one day and see this for myself. For now, Happy Wordless Wednesday! 🙂

  15. tracy says:

    they’re just so elegant with their height and impossibly long necks, aren’t they? one of the giraffe at our zoo just had a baby (foal? i’m not sure what baby giraffe are called…?) anyway… just had a baby a couple of weeks ago. i watched the birth video on the evening news. i can’t believe they don’t break their necks (or other bones) falling so far to the ground! amazing!

Leave a Reply

