If you go down to the woods…

Two weekends ago (yes, I know… I’m a bit late!) Mr. M and I took a trip out to the woods to look for bluebells. We visited two different woods just outside Cambridge, both of which are looked after by the wildlife trust.

Hayley wood is an ancient woodland, first mentioned in writing in 1251, made up of ash, maple, oak and hazel. It is coppiced to let in light and to encourage the growth of wild flowers and shrub layers. When we visited it was exceptionally quiet, with only a few other people around. The noisiest things that we heard were the trees creaking and the birds. It’s a really peaceful place with a slightly magical atmosphere – you can’t help but feel that you aren’t alone in there and there was a little part of me that felt like I was trespassing on somebody else’s space.

Waresley and Gransden Woods are adjoining ancient oak-ash woods with a completely different feel to them. We had thought that the bluebells in Hayley wood were impressive, but there were so many more here – great swathes of blue carpeting the forest floor.

Here the paths through the trees are much broader and it feels more like human beings have made their mark on the landscape. Photos by Mr M.

This entry was posted in Cambridge, UK and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to If you go down to the woods…

  1. I love bluebell woods. I discovered one near where I live, except it’s fenced off and has massive security signs warning not to trespass. But the whole floor was covered in blue. I believe that bluebell woods mean that they’re been around since the Doomsday book was written – that’s a very long time 🙂

  2. Georgina says:

    More gorgeous pics! 1251 is a very ancient woodland – how beautiful! You’ve inspired me to get my finger out and write about my Wales trip (somewhat too late!). I’m just not feeling like typing these days for some reason…not sure I’ve got anything interestign to say. I need my blog buddies to inpire me 🙂

Leave a Reply

