A little post about running

I’m feeling quite pleased with myself today. Last night I ran the furthest that I have ever run (in my life, ever). In the light of people who run marathons, half-marathons and so on it’s not such an achievement, but I was very happy with my 6.08k (3.78 miles).

It reminded me of an article that I read on the guardian website last week about women and exercise. It made the point that exercise is often sold to women as a means to lose weight and that “the idea that exercise is a chore done to improve our looks is omnipresent”. This struck a chord with me because the sole reason that I started running was to shift the stubborn little bit of fat which sits at the top of my legs, just under my bum. No other form of exercise seems to touch this bit, but running really does. I wanted to do this specifically because I’d bought a dress for a friend’s wedding which wasn’t very forgiving round that area.

The article went on to point out that “for most women who exercise regularly this is a side issue. Instead they rhapsodise about how exercise makes them happier and proud of what their bodies can achieve.” I can also relate to that. Although I wanted to improve my figure, that is a side issue. I know that if I don’t exercise I get depressed, especially at this time of year when the nights are long and the light is in short supply. I know that if I feel blue than exercise will sort me out and make me feel so much better. I also know that knowing this is one thing, actually dragging yourself out to exercise when you feel down is a very different kettle of fish.

I haven’t been running for long, but already I’m beginning to feel proud of what my body can do. I’ve run further than ever before and today I feel good (no aches or pains yet).  It’s exciting to think that I’m probably fitter now in my mid thirties than I’ve ever been before. So exciting in fact that I just signed up for a 10k race for life in May. Eeek! 

This entry was posted in Health & Fitness, Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A little post about running

  1. Well done! I tell myself that it’s just an achievement that I got off my arse and gone running, even if it’s just for 20 mins. Loosing weight for me is a side issue (as in the Guardian article) but then I’m lucky enough to have never been overweight. If my jeans become tight, then I know its time to get moving!

    Since I’ve started running, I’ve noticed that I’ve become less grumpy and more positive! But it could also be because I have goals to work towards this year.

    I don’t know if you know of a website called mapmyrun.com but I find it a useful diary and you can set your logged runs to private. The best bit for me is that it tots up your milage for the week. And it’s great to see it go up and up each week. Keep at it! And good luck for May. I’m sure you’ll keep us up-to-date with your progress.

  2. George D says:

    Ooh well done you. I hate running but I did a 5km race and was really proud of myself. I do a lot of climbing and its definitely changed the way my body looks, for the better, as well as making me feel much stronger physically and mentally. I’m amazed at what I can do after a just over a year of climbing.

    I love the bit in the map where it looks like you got lost and ran around in circles!!
    Good luck with your 10km race! Is it Race For Life?

  3. Ali says:

    Thanks ladies!

    I’ll have to check out map my run (as you might be able to see I use friend fit at the moment).

    There was quite a bit of running in circles involved! And yes, it’s Race for Life, I did a couple of 5k ones in the past, but never 10!

  4. K says:

    It’s always nice when you enjoy something that’s good for you. Unfortunately, I really truly dislike walking, running, or pretty much any sort of physical activity, so if not for the appeal of losing weight and toning my muscle (combined the realities of my slowing metabolism), I’m pretty sure I would never ever do it. It’s not all bad though–my loathing of exercise actually makes me eat a much healthier diet, since every time I eat something fatty, my first thought is, “Oh God, if I eat this gigantic piece of cheesecake, I have to go running. I hate running. Maybe I should eat some carrots instead.”

    But yes, good for you! 😉

  5. Wow, I love that map! A dodgy knee injury has left me unable to run, but that’s no loss as I never enjoyed running anyway. Aerobics in the comfort of my own home — and no boobs bouncing in public is much more my thing. Or skiing, snowboarding, telemarking, wakeboarding etc….

Leave a Reply

