2010/2011

I don’t really think that New Year’s resolutions are a good idea, in most cases you set yourself up to fail by being unrealistic (I will get up early every day) and soon slip back into the old habits that suit you (going back to sleep after the alarm has gone off). However, it’s difficult not to think that there are some things which I would like to do more in the coming year, because I enjoy them so I will put down a few of those here. Before I do, though I’m also going to do a quick list of things that I enjoyed and achieved in 2010 – a list of how lucky I am really, so look away now if that sounds like showing off.

Things I did in 2010

Went to Thailand and had a beautiful, relaxing time doing nothing other than reading in the sunshine, eating drinking and wandering about. The food was amazing and the hotel and its surroundings were beautiful. I’ll never forget watching lightening hitting the sea from the hotel pool with the few other mad brits who had stayed out in the rain.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Saw some great comedy and music – Mitchell & Webb, Armstrong & Miller, Dylan Moran, Chris Addison, La Roux, and Editors.

Quit the gym and decided to get outside and run instead. I’ve gone from no running at all to being able to run 5k. I’ve also managed to get Mr M out with me, which I’m really happy about!

Went to America, which might not have happened if my friends hadn’t chosen to get married there. It was an unbelievable trip and we were so lucky with every part of it.

Got out and about in the UK and had a fabulous weekend exploring Bath and tea at the Ritz.

Organised a trip to Italy for my Mum & Dad. They had never been abroad on holiday and it was fabulous to see how much they enjoyed it. Hearing their stories and seeing all of their photos made it so worthwhile. I just hope that it’ll inspire them to do it again.

Got a TAP Diploma in Learning Design , which is a boring work achievement but something I’m quite proud of.

Swapped 2 cars for 1. Although it was sad to see my lovely convertible go, it’s something that we have needed to do for a while, so now we are greener, more economical and have a nice shiny new toy!

Had our bathroom replaced. This was a bit of a process, but now we have a really useable bathroom. It has been fully insulated which has made an incredible difference to the warmth of the room and the whole house. It’s also been tiled (complete with under floor heating) and has all new fixtures and fittings. Luxury!

Got our chimneys capped, which was something that we had needed to do since we moved in and which has also made a huge difference to the warmth of the house and kept us cosy in the wintry weather this year.

Started a blog in an effort to both exercise my writing skills and to document the America trip. It’s amazing how much I wrote down which I might otherwise have slipped out of my mind.

Started knitting by attempting a blanket for our bed (I’m halfway to the desired length, but half wish we had a smaller bed now).

Things I will do in 2011

Continue running! I’d really like to do a Parkrun this year to see how I get on.

Improve my swimming skills. I’m not very confident in the water and it’s about time I sorted it out.

Finish our bed blanket and knit a baby blanket! I must knit more as I really enjoy it.

Pick up my pencils. I tried drawing some stuff with my mum over Christmas and was amazed at just how rusty I was, time to get drawing again.

Blog every week. I’ve signed up to the wordpress ‘post a week’ pledge, so I should just get on with it! It may mean that not all of my posts are related to getting out and about, but it will be good to keep my hand in and get some regularity with my posts.

Go on a cruise. My friend will be getting married during a cruise at the end of the year, so Mr M and I will be joining her sailing round the sunny Canary Islands.

Get the stairs decorated and try to do a bit more to the house. Save up to pay a chunk off the mortgage.

Drink water, take my vitamins and get my 5 a day.

Eat fabulous food and drink great wine. To heck with the calories, that’s what exercise is for.

Plan our next big trip. Where should we go?

This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2010/2011

  1. Looks like you had a good 2010, good luck for 2011. I’ve tried to crochet, but didn’t get very far. Agree with you about the resolutions, they need to be realistic otherwise you’re doomed to failure from the start.

    I’ll look into Park Run (am going to bed in a min). I’ve started to train for a half marathon this March, but my ultimate goal is to climb to Everest Base Camp later in the year, so hopfully things like Park Run will keep up the momentum. I want to get fit so I at least stand half a chance of completing it. Plus I’m edging to the big 3-0 and haven’t exercised in loooong time.

  2. stickinsect says:

    Hi there. I saw your blog in the comments of the Daily Post. Glad you had a good time in Bath, I am studying there.

  3. K says:

    Great post–it sounds like you had an action-packed year! Thanks for responding to my “blogging buddy” request. I think we’re a good match, and I look forward to reading more of your blog in the future!

  4. Pingback: Knitting Projects | Out & About

Leave a Reply

